The Mount-Everest Effect

Posted: June 21, 2006 by Neeraj in Formula-One, Off-Topic

Just casually going through the stats of the blog, I noticed a sudden increase in the number of people that visited the blog:

On looking more in-depth, it turned out to be the day Michael Schumacher’s car “stalled” at Rascasse in Monte Carlo. And given the increase in the traffic, I aptly named it “The Mount-Everest Effect” [how creative !].

So did you also got “The Mount-Everest Effect” at your F1 Blog ?

Comments
  1. sukhi says:

    well not in terms of F1, but I did have a similar peak. Due to the tammy effect

  2. Oliver White says:

    Oh yes, I too got a very large peak. As the situation unfolded, I was working a night shift and struggled to keep up with the comments and the drama that unfolded whilst ‘working’. But thankfully, visitors got relatively up-to-date info, although my boss might have a different view! Since then, the trend has remained pretty much, almost like the site took a ‘step up’ in visitor counts.
    I hate to say it, but Schumacher doing the naughty has actually promoted BlogF1! Long live controversy, just as long as I can keep up with it 😉

  3. Neeraj says:

    That’s true Oliver, Schumi doing naughty things does results in increased traffic. This also shows how much people love controversies 😉

  4. Farzad says:

    Yup I noticed the same thing. For 6 years I’ve had a message board that goes along with my website and you can pretty well match a Schumi controversy with each peak in traffic on my message board.

  5. Roy says:

    In terms of “hits” (not visitors) we went from about 50,000 a day to 90,000 for that period 🙂

Leave a Reply

