Alonso: If I can’t win, I hope you do….

Posted: October 27, 2006 by Neeraj in Drivers, Fernando Alonso, Giancarlo Fisichella, Heikki Kovalainen, McLaren Mercedes, Renault, Teams

Fernando AlonsoAs reported on crash.net

Whether it was the realisation that he could be throwing away a shot at a third straight Formula One world title, or just the emotion at parting from a group of good friends for the last time, Fernando Alonso was in reflective mood as he visited Renault F1’s Enstone facility on Wednesday.

“I think there are thousands of people in Formula One teams and, of them, only one team is champion. In the last two years, you have proved you are the best. I want to thank everyone for giving me the possibility to have a winning car in my hands, and to say I did my best to earn my championships and your championships as well. We did it.” Alonso said.

“I am now moving on to another team, as you know…,” he began, pausing only to allow a chorus of jovial catcalls, “but, if I don’t have the possibility to win in the future, then I hope you win, because you are the best.”

Even we wish both [Alonso & Renault] all the best. We are looking forward towards McLaren returning to winning-ways with Alonso and looking forward to Renault for creating the same magic with Fisichella & Kovalainen.

TAGS: . . . . . .

Comments
  1. Taker says:

    Im waiting to see what happens if Alonso’s car breaks continously for 3 times in a row when he is leading the race. I think it would be fun to see whether he would say that Mclaren is trying to sabotage his championship or that he doesnt think F-1 is a sport anymore ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Neeraj says:

    That’s exactly what I’m waiting to see Taker .. and to add to that Kimi starts with a win in Ferrari ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. heny says:

    alonso we wish u the best in 2007 with mclaren. always support you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

